The Dawn Chorus

Fresh Australian Feminism

Jessica Valenti Responds To The ‘Jezebel vs The Blogosphere’ Fracas

Posted by Clem Bastow on July 10, 2008

Dawn Chorister Elmo wrote about the Thinking And Drinking/Slut Machine/Moe/Lizz Winstead interview fallout yesterday, and – having watched the interviews, read the comment flamewars, and the involved parties’ personal responses – I’ve been trying to work out how I feel about it ever since. The media – and the post-fem/anti-fem/sexist portions of the population – like nothing more than to rant about how feminists are fighting with each other, how it’s all dissolved into a massive bitch-fest, and so on. It seems no one can decide whether Moe and Tracie were representing Jezebel, or themselves, or feminism as a whole, or whatever. It’s a minefield.

But I think this closing point from Jessica Valenti’s Feministing piece on the topic sums up where I personally stand on it all:

I deeply care about the way that feminism is portrayed, the ways that feminist issues get talked about and how to create a better world for women. And maybe that makes me some post-hipster too-earnest uncool idealist, but I’d rather be a dork with a cause than a nihilist with a lot of page views.

As one of the commenters on Feministing said, “‘I’d rather be a dork with a cause than a nihilist with a lot of page views.’ And that pretty much says it all. I want that on a t-shirt, for real.” Sign me up for one of them.

Leave a Reply

 
