The Dawn Chorus

Fresh Australian Feminism

Weekend Love-In: Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves

Posted by Clem Bastow on July 12, 2008

The week we started The Dawn Chorus, I went to my local op-shop for some second-hand retail therapy (the best sort; opting out of the whole capitalist/commercial world does wonders for the wallet, the environment and your self-esteem), and while I was there, I stumbled upon a stack of awesome feminist books (to add to my already groaning ‘feminism’/’gender studies’ shelf) – and then this song came on the op-shop stereo:

Fate? Who knows – but I still love this song. In fact it always makes me cry, no matter when/where I hear it.

Incidentally, because Sony BMG is run by a bunch of fatcat dudes in suits smoking cigars who want to keep all their money and artists to themselves (and because their “official” uploads are truly hateful quality, anyway), you can’t embed the 1985 video clip – but I rather like this fan-made video anyway, because it has even more awesome women than the original, both ‘real life’ inspirational babes and some of fiction’s greatest heroines. Rosie The Riveter! Amelia Earhart! Clarice Starling! Scully! Ripley! The Bride! Janis! Tina!

Now we should all go out and kick ass this weekend. We love you, Annie Lennox and Aretha Franklin and Dave Stewart (and anonymous fan-flick-making YouTuber)!

2 Responses to “Weekend Love-In: Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves

  1. Thanks for the weekend love-in! That was a nice way to start my Sunday mornng. 🙂

  2. Amelia said

    op shops are the best. do you know about Melbourne’s collaborative op shopping blog ‘I op therefore I am’

    http://melb-opshopping.blogspot.com/

    there are links there to maps and addresses of Melbourne’s op shops. let me know if you are interested in joining.

    regards, Amelia

Leave a Reply

 
