The Dawn Chorus

Fresh Australian Feminism

Granny Knickers Needed!

Posted by Cate on September 18, 2008

I’m sure I wasn’t the only one choking on my vegemite toast this morning when I heard about No Undie Sundie, a poorly spelled opportunity for women to exchange their knickers for drinks at the Saint Hotel in St Kilda, Melbourne. And if women flash their bras or underwear at bar staff, they’ll also get a free drink.

I find the idea rather revolting, but it’s no surprise coming from a bar who thought it the height of hilarity to employ a dwarf to pour drinks down the throats of punters.

I don’t know if it’s necessarily an invitation to sexual assault as claimed by sexual assault counsellors (you don’t need to be naked to get unwanted sexual attention) but it is rather unsavory.

But on the upside for both genders, a guy doesn’t need to buy you free drinks to get your knickers off, you get your drinks for free. I’m curious to know whether the gig would be more popular with panting males or thirsty women… Time to pop out those stained ‘period undies’ and pay the bar a visit. Free cocktails does a lot for period pain. Bring your nanna too, I’m sure she’d love a shandy.

6 Responses to “Granny Knickers Needed!”

  1. Clem Bastow said

    Oh wow. I would totally be up for a massed granny undies/period pants mission. Let’s get a photographer and head on down. What say you, ladies?

  2. mscate said

    oh totally, who’s up for sunday night? Sex on the Beach for all!

  3. steven said

    can an uninhibited bloke also get a free drink for flinging a leopard print thong across the bar?

    (though isn’t having peoples undies out like that on a bar a health and safety issue? “cockroaches are filthy and aviolation of code, but by all means put the G-string that spent the taxi ride nestled tween your cheeks upon the table” )

    Other than that i really couldn’t care less, I don’t buy that it will make people drink irresponsibly – not in any meaningful numbers.

    People go out and binge drink – if they can’t afford it, they’ll do it less often, but there are others to replace those missing drunkards. So that might mean an individuals risk of drinking too much drops, but not the chance for a person at the bar.

  4. I was getting ready for a good laugh – granny knickers, ooh, this’ll be good (especially as the Kraft Kuties are making undies from old t-shirts in Melb tomorrow and I can’t be there) but then… well, then there was this.

    There are some things I just don’t get. I mean, I get it, but I just don’t get it. I guess that’s why I read your blog and don’t go to bars where taking my knickers off might score me a free drink.

    So, from the bottom of my undies drawer, thank you!!

  5. mscate said

    alas, the evening has been closed down :(. I’ll just have to take my knickers off at home for a free ginger wine.

  6. Clem Bastow said

    Damn, and I was saving all my period undies from the wash ‘n’ everything!

Leave a Reply

 
